Posted by: lyonenglishnetwork | November 9, 2011

Make a list

When you’re learning a language, I think making a list can be a great thing to do.

I’ve got 3 examples of this:

– me when I was first in France. I had 5 or 6 pages of expressions etc. in my flat.

– one of my recent students made lists of expressions when watching films

– one of my current students who’s working in an international environment writes down new expressions every business meeting

When you’re doing this, always remember: make sure you get the input so you hear the words in the target language, and then put down on the right-hand side of your paper the equivalent. (don’t get a list of French expressions and translate them back into English). Hopefully, this will help your capacity to think in a language.

What are your favourite typical expressions in English ?


Leave a Reply

Categories

