Posted by: lyonenglishnetwork | January 20, 2012

The acid test!

Today, was the acid test!

I’ve been listening to Spanish for sometime and I feel like it’s time to speak.

A few of my students in a company I’m working for speak Spanish or come from Spanish-speaking families. So I walked in this morning and tried to talk. After a few introductory phrases, I froze. Froze up completely.

I was a bit disappointed but then the same student came up for a lesson. After a little while, I was able to string a few phrases together. All in all, the result was not bad.

I’m still a long way from being completely satisfied, my objective is to have a C1 level but for the moment there is still a lot of work to do.

However, some of the feedback from the students was that the Spanish sounded natural with not too many mistakes which is what I was looking for.

It was pretty automatic too, which is what you need – I was able to think directly in Spanish but only for a few phrases.

Time will tell but overall I’m pleased with the result I’ve got up until now.

Paul

 


Leave a Reply

Categories

